Re: Characters not getting stored
Posted by: Andrea Croci
Date: April 05, 2013 01:00AM

Thank you Rick, I'm impressed about the humongous volume of your knowledge far beyond MySQL. Here are the answers to your questions and more.

Approach 1: I first prepared the file with Eclipse under Windows 7. Then I tried again with Notepad and TexMakerX because I wanted to try saving the file as utf8 and I didn't find this feature in Eclipse (I'm completely new to it too). With Notepad and TexMakerX I tried to save the file as ANSI and as UTF8. More about this later. I make SQL files with those tools, which all get interpreted correctly with all settings when I do "source c:...", but again, there are no non-english characters in SQL. I'm also entering the commands and viewing the results from cmd (MySQL).

Approach 2:
Using the following setting:
character_set_database utf8
character_set_filesystem binary (again, I'm assuming it's not a good idea to change this, right?)
character_set_server utf8
character_set_system utf8

These settings I didn't change.

2.1: Using NAMES at cp850, the first column outputs 'ß' and the second E1.
2.2: With set NAMES latin1, idem as before ('ß' and E1).
2.3: With set NAMES utf8, idem as before.
2.4: With NAMES utf8, I did SELECT _cp850'ß', hex(_cp850'ß'); and I got a srange character as first (which I can't reproduce here) and E1.
2.5: With NAMES latin1, I did SELECT _cp850'ß', hex(_cp850'ß'); and I got a srange character as first (which I can't reproduce here, but different from that before) and E1.
2.6: With NAMES cp850, I did SELECT _cp850'ß', hex(_cp850'ß'); and I got 'ß' as first and E1.
2.7: With names cp850, I did SELECT _cp850'ß', hex(convert(_cp850'ß' using utf8)); and I got 'ß' and C39F.
2.8: With names cp850, I did SELECT _cp850'ß', hex(convert(_cp850'ß' using latin1)); and I got 'ß' and DF.
2.9: With names cp850, I did SELECT _cp850'ß', hex(convert(_cp850'ß' using cp850)); and I got 'ß' and E1.