MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Install & Repo

Re: SOLUTION: "mysql_connect(): Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client"
Posted by: David Massey
Date: February 20, 2005 09:04PM

Dear flamtriplets_2000,

Thank you for your post. I am very new at PHP and MySQL, but I am struggling to learn. You helped out a great deal.

Background: MacOS 10.3.8. PHP v.4.3.10, MySQL v.4.1.10-max (running Client 4.1.1-alpha). Also downloaded trial version of a MySQL administrator software package called Navicat.

Anyway, long story short, after untold days which included massaging software packages, 4 "from-scratch" hard drive rebuilds, tinkering at the >prompt on Terminal, experimenting with MyAdminPHP, and Navicate, I finally got all packages installed and running in a secure state.

Then I went to Macromedia Dreamweaver to work my way through a tutorial - that's where I received the "Client does not support authentication..." error. Ugghh... I'm tough, I don't cry easily, that's just some dust in my eye - right?!

Any after hours of reading and searching I found your post. Sounded good so I tried it. I copied and pasted step three into the MySQL prompt, inserting my pw in place. Wow, MyAdminPHP started working with no errors - all secure - ready to go. Hmmm. Maybe what's good for the goose is good for the gander. So I went back to the MySQL prompt and pasted in the same line, this time using the name to the user I had created in Navicat, and changing his password over to the old_password style. Hey, it worked for root@localhost - right?

Went back to the Dreamweaver tutorial and BAMM!!! - "Connection made successfully". I don't know how you guys figure this stuff out, especially on a PC which is total Greek to me, but thanks. I am a happy camper, and I may get to see my wife this weekend.

You are appreciated!

David

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Written By
Posted
December 31, 2005 12:02AM
December 31, 2005 02:28AM