MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Performance

Re: query to find gaps in sequential indexes causes CPU spikes
Posted by: Rick James
Date: December 01, 2011 10:13AM

> would setting the innodb_buffer_pool_instances to 27 help overall performance? Is 1GB is the optimal instance size
(I have no experience (yet) with such.) It _should_ help because it would split up a significant performance hindrance -- the "mutex contention". Having multiple instances has some overhead, hence the admonition about not making them smaller than a GB. At the other extreme, having lots (27) may have some overhead, too. How about 9 instances of 3GB? And, if you get any benchmarks that look like they prove something, please post them.

> The table could be split vertically as you suggested, but would that help performance in this case?
It is hard to say. It depends on many more factors that are not yet available (and hard to even ask for) -- What are the common SELECTs? Do they include that BLOB? When you do want the BLOB, are you fetching just one, or several? How many rows are scanned in the various queries? What percent of the BLOBs bigger than 255 characters? The answers interact in complex ways, so even if I had the answers, I could only guess at whether Vertical partitioning would be beneficial. (Some other schemas jump up and say they will likely benefit; yours is less clear cut.)

> I did try the NOT EXISTS suggestion. The cpu usage was down, but only 1 - 2%.
Alas, I can't get them all right.

> max_connections is currently 2500
If you do stick with that high number, you should probably decrease the buffer_pool by a GB, to allow room for 2500 processes.

Is this EXPLAIN still valid?
> select_type type key key_len ref rows extra
> primary range column1_column0 8 NULL 1250268 Using where; Using index
> dependant subquery ref column1_column0 8 const,func 1 Using where; Using index