MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Replication

Error reading packet from server: binlog truncated in the middle of event ( server_errno=1236)
Posted by: Denis Bucher
Date: February 12, 2014 06:50AM

Dear all,

I know that many people seem to have had the same problem, but after reading hours of forum I'm still blocked, that's why I hope someone can help me!

I have a working MASTER-SLAVE mysql configuration that suddenly stopped to synchronize, maybe because of disk full or other reason. But whatever reason I just want to make it work again.

This is what happens in the SLAVE logs when I restart Mysql or when doing "START SLAVE" :

[Note] Slave I/O thread: connected to master 'repl_slave@mastersvr.mydomain.ch:3306', replication started in log 'mastersvr-bin.000018' at position 505524084
[ERROR] Error reading packet from server: binlog truncated in the middle of event ( server_errno=1236)
[ERROR] Got fatal error 1236: 'binlog truncated in the middle of event' from master when reading data from binary log
[Note] Slave I/O thread exiting, read up to log 'mastersvr-bin.000018', position 505524084
[Note] Error reading relay log event: slave SQL thread was killed

Therefore I did :
LOAD DATA FROM MASTER;

And SLAVE START :
[Note] Slave SQL thread initialized, starting replication in log 'mastersvr-bin.000032' at position 45413, relay log './mysqld-slave-relay-bin.000001' position: 4
[Note] Slave I/O thread: connected to master 'repl_slave@mastersvr.mydomain.ch:3306', replication started in log 'mastersvr-bin.000032' at position 45413

There was no error but data still doesn't seem to be synchronized, for example :

master> SELECT count(*) FROM article;
+----------+
| count(*) |
+----------+
| 649 |
+----------+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

slave> SELECT count(*) FROM article;
+----------+
| count(*) |
+----------+
| 572 |
+----------+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

Therefore I am not quite sure on what I should verify/test to understand what is happening and where is the problem ?