Cannot establish ssl connection
Posted by: Sebastien Boily
Date: April 21, 2016 04:57PM

Hello

I'm a beginner but I've made a Powershell script that uses the mysql connector/net and it works. But now I would like to move the connection to a ssl connection. I followed the steps to first make certificate files. I used a Linux host to generate the files, as explained on:
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql-security-excerpt/5.0/en/creating-ssl-files-using-openssl.html
I had no cacert.pem file so I downloaded it there:
http://curl.haxx.se/ca/cacert.pem
I also created a client.pfx file from those files, since .NET requires it, as explained on:
https://dev.mysql.com/doc/connector-net/en/connector-net-tutorials-ssl.html

Finally I moved the certificate files on my Windows host with the working mysql server. I added those lines in my.ini:
[mysqld]
ssl-ca="C:\\Share\\OpenSSL\\cacert.pem"
ssl-cert="C:\\Share\\OpenSSL\\server-cert.pem"
ssl-key="C:\\Share\\OpenSSL\\server-key.pem"
(others ssl variables where empty)

I loaded mysqld with --log-error-verbosity=3 to catch everything that go wrong.
I used phpmyadmin in "variables" section to show ssl variables and to be sure that files are loaded and that SSL is active. Variables were set:
have ssl = yes
ssl ca = C:\Share\OpenSSL\cacert.pem
ssl cert = C:\Share\OpenSSL\server-cert.pem
ssl key = C:\Share\OpenSSL\server-key.pem

Then I created a user named ssluser with require_ssl on on it. Now, I do this in Powershell:

[void][System.Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName("MySql.Data")
$connection = New-Object MySql.Data.MySqlClient.MySqlConnection
$connection.ConnectionString = "Server=localhost;Uid=me;Pwd=somepass;database=p4-projet;"

Then: $connection.open()
Which works good (connection state is open with no errors). But now when I try with ssl:

$connection.ConnectionString = "Server=localhost;Uid=ssluser;Pwd=somepass;database=p4-projet;CertificateFile=C:\Share\OpenSSL\client.pfx;CertificatePassword=pass;SslMode=Required"