MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Connector/Python

Indexing with MySql
Posted by: John Smith
Date: April 04, 2011 03:55PM

Here's part of a script I'm working on below. I'm new to Python by the way:-

# Checking and creating the first table 'data' if it doesn't already exist
cursor = conn.cursor ()
cursor.execute ("DROP TABLE IF EXISTS data")
cursor.execute ("""
CREATE TABLE data
(
mac CHAR(40),
bssid CHAR(40),
contype CHAR(40),
ip CHAR(40),
ltime CHAR(40)
)

# Checking and creating the second table 'items' if it doesn't already exist
cursor.execute ("DROP TABLE IF EXISTS items")
cursor.execute ("""
CREATE TABLE data
(
mac CHAR(40)
)

Basically, here's what I am looking to achieve:-

My DB relates to information being passed from a local server. When the information is filtered through, I am hoping for the following:-

1.) There will be a total of two tables - the first one called "items" will just contain a list of MAC addresses and nothing else. Table two will be called "data" which will contain data piped through from a local server.
2.) I want the program to first of all check if the respective "data" table exists. If it does, then I want it to continue without creating the table. Similarly for the "items" table.