MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  PHP

Freehand Query form. Help needed.
Posted by: Scott Reid
Date: September 25, 2013 06:11AM

Hi all. I am working on a little personal project, but since I am not a coder myself I am limited to finding examples and hacking them a bit until they work the way I was hoping for. However I've now reached a point where I would be grateful for assistance from someone to help me finish it off.

Basically, I work as a self employed courier and each month I download my financial records and import them into my database. I have created a web based front end which will display all the records from this database using the bog standard "Select * From tbltest2" query which is hard coded into my page and also display totals for income, expenses and total profit/loss.

Currently, if I wish to only view records for a certain month, or view only income or expenses I have to manually edit the hard coded query.

What I would like is as follows.

a: Upon opening my page in a web browser, all records are displayed automatically.
b: A simple textbox at the base of the page where a new mysql search can be input.
c: The page should update and display the records according to the mysql query entered into the textbox. I would prefer to not have any part of the query hardcoded.

Here is the code I have currently worked out. I know it's not pretty (bear in mind I am not a coder so I'm not too worried about that, or about sql injection as this will only ever run on my own computer.

<html>
<head>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="stripe.css">
</head>
<body>
<?php
require_once "conn.inc.php";

$stmt = $pdo->query("SELECT * FROM tbltest2");
$results = $stmt->fetchAll(PDO::FETCH_ASSOC); #Get all rows of the database

#Variables
$tCred=0; #Total income
$tDeb=0; #Total expenses
$tpro=0; #Total Profit/Loss
$tCredF=0; #Total income, formatted to decimal
$tDebF=0; #Total expenses, formatted to decimal

foreach ($results as $row) {