MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Newbie

Sports Statistics
Posted by: Rod Trexler
Date: August 18, 2009 10:25PM

I am not sure if this is the correct place to put this, so please let me know if it should be somewhere else.
I am new to MySQL. I am trying to implement a sports statistics page for a website. I have figured out how to get totals and averages for a single game for each player, but I want to know how to display totals and averages over several games for each player.
Example: I can "SELECT * FROM stats2 WHERE game_id=1" to display all the players' stats for game 1. It will list each player in a row with their stats for that game, because I specified game #1. No problem.

The question is how do I display each player in a row with their cumulative stats (totals & averages) after 2 games? 3games? 10 games? I have 3 games worth of data in the table at this point, but cannot display the stats correctly. What I have gotten so far is a table with each player's stats for each game.
Example output:
PLAYER - FGM - FGA - FTM - FTA - TRB
John Doe - 2 - 4 - 1 - 3 - 5
John Doe - 0 - 2 - 2 - 3 - 3
John Doe - 3 - 5 - 1 - 1 - 2
Dave Smith - 2 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 2
Dave Smith - 1 - 3 - 2 - 3 - 1
Dave Smith - 3 - 4 - 1 - 2 - 1

and so on for each player.

I would like to have each player listed only once, with their totals and averages based on number of games played.
This is the biggest trouble I have been having trying to learn MySQL. If anyone can help me I would greatly appreciate it! I can provide more detail if needed.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 08/18/2009 10:42PM by Rod Trexler.

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Written By
Posted
Sports Statistics
August 18, 2009 10:25PM
August 18, 2009 10:46PM
August 19, 2009 06:29PM
August 19, 2009 08:37AM
August 19, 2009 06:28PM
August 24, 2009 05:03PM

Sorry, you can't reply to this topic. It has been closed.