MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Newbie

Help!!!!
Posted by: Gabor Vojnar
Date: July 21, 2005 09:16AM

Hi,

Im studying PHP and MySQL so I'm pretty new to this so my question may not make sense but please help.
I have made a database with tables, queries and forms in MS Acces and I'm trying to convert it to PHP and MySQL. In access sometimes I was making queries after queries joining them together, sometimes queries with tables to get the results. The queries worked just as they were tables. And I belive in some cases I need to join query results with tables in MySQL statements but I do not see how that be possible. Lets say I have a table with numerous columns ie. article, SupplierID, X1, X2, Price etc.. and I want to find the min price for those instances where the same article's appearing more than once. If I do a group by on article and a min on Price than that will not give the right results because there are other columns which will effect the outcome.
So in Access I was doing a query with article and Price (group and min) and then a second query where I rejoined the results back with the original table to find the rest of the columns. Now in access I was able to make queries with queries or queries with tables just as a query was a table. Now in mysql all I get is lets say two array pairs which if I do a loop within a loop than I can eco out to an html page to be a table filled with data. But what if I need to use that result in a new query???? Can I implement arrays into an mySQL select statement somehow?? Or I have to write query results into tables all the time when I need to run other queries on the result query to be able to get the wanted results but imaginig that, that would make quite lot extra tables. (in Acces I had 200 tables and 200 queries about)
Yesterday I was able to work around on the on finding the min price using a function find on this website under "3.6.4. The Rows Holding the Group-wise Maximum of a Certain Field"
------------