MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Newbie

Re: Accessing data from 3 tables in one query
Posted by: John Weicher
Date: August 08, 2005 08:47AM

Now, I admit that I am not an expert in MySQL query formation, but let me offer my two cents regarding at least one of the output scenarios you are experiencing.

First a question though: In your application, is it always required that a user who has a record in your JL_SchoolsFromResumes table MUST also have an entry in JL_LawSchools table? In other words, are they required to also choose an item from the drop-down list, or is this optional? If not, then I think that might be causing some problems with the way you are currently constructing your SELECT statement. Because then your first output case makes perfect sense.

Your selection statement is as follows (shortened for the sake of typing, and minus the unnecessary extra parens for readability):

SELECT * FROM JL_SFRs, Degrees, JL_LSs WHERE ;
JL_SFRs.DegreeID == Degrees.DegreeID AND ;
JL_SFRs.LocalLawSchool == JL_LSs.SchoolID AND ;
JL_SFRs.UserID == %s

Because your three filter criteria are all connect by an explicit AND, if ANY of the three filters fails, absolutely nothing is going to be returned. Therefore only users who do have a local law school selected from the DDL can satisfy the second of your filter criteria. All the records in your JL_LawSchools table have a mandatory ID(i.e. not null), presumably, so unless a record in the SchoolsFromResumes table has something other than NULL in its LocalLawSchool field, the comparison is guaranteed to fail, causing the whole SELECT to fail (return empty I mean). NULL == <Anything NOT NULL> always returns false.