MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Newbie

Question about Database Structure
Posted by: Simon Maltby
Date: February 09, 2017 04:25PM

First of all I should let you know that I am a complete novice, and have never formed a database before (except in Access but that doesn't count).

I will tell you what I have done and what I would like to achieve and know:

I have a server (Windows), running Apache and MySQL. This bit I can do easily.

My grand plan is to keep track of parts I sell. About 50,000 different types of parts. Every part has a unique serial number, and every part has a Manufacturer and a part number. Generally speaking there are only up to about 20 of each part at any one time. I deal in 2nd hand spares. Very few new parts.

Parts:
1. My Part Number – Varchar(20)
2. Part Name – Varchar(20)
3. Manufacturer – Varchar(20)
4. OEM Part Number – Varchar(30)
5. Alternative Part Numbers – Varchar(256)
6. Location on the shelf – Varchar(30)
7. Stock Quantity – Int(10)
8. Low Stock Level – Int(10)
9. Used On – Varchar(256)
10. Key Word – Varchar(256)

Alternative Part Numbers, Used On and Key Words are to be searchable strings.

Serial Numbers:
1. Serial Number – Int(10)
2. Condition – Enum(‘New’, ‘Used’, ‘Unknown’)
3. Location – Varchar(20)
4. Return Status – Enum(‘None’, ’Pending’, ‘Creditable’, ‘BER’)

Location at this point is either Stock or a Customers name (not interested in a Customer database at tis point).

History:
1. History – Varchar(256)
2. Time & Date – Datetime

The History is the history per Serial Number. There may be may returns and send outs of the same serial number part.

Now here is my question - it will sound really simple and easy but I know if I start out on the wrong foot I will have to start all over again:

The structure of the Part Number is simple. The structure of the Serial Number is simple. The History part is the one which I haven't yet got my head round.

Should I do this, or is it wrong: