MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Newbie

Three queries needed with the same result
Posted by: Russell Wright
Date: December 01, 2019 06:36PM

I'm a student in a couple of different database-related classes. After these classes, I'm 4 away from completing my Master's degree, so I am really wanting to get this done.

I have a lab assignment that reads as follows:

Write a query that performs a join, a subquery, and a correlated subquery using the student, enrollment, grade, and zipcode tables. Execute each query to show that it produces the same results.

Just FYI, the lab environment is running MySQL 5.5.45. If I was able to export the database to my local drive and install it to my instance of 8.0.x, I would. Unfortunately, there isn't a standard command prompt available to run the necessary commands to do it :(

Without displaying the table contents, I can tell you this much:

STUDENT, ENROLLMENT, AND GRADE can all be linked to each other (i.e., PK/FK) via STUDENT_ID; ZIP is the PK for ZIPCODE and only exists in STUDENT

I want to execute a query that pulls the student name (STUDENT.LAST_NAME, STUDENT.FIRST_NAME), their enrollment date for the classes they are enrolled in (ENROLLMENT.ENROLL), and their "Final" grade (GRADE.GRADE_TYPE_CODE = 'FI').

I would like to do this for all students either living in a specific ZIP/range of ZIPs (WHERE STUDENT.ZIP = '100%') or a specific state (WHERE ZIPCODE.STATE = 'GA')

I have been working on the queries for the past week but I keep running into various errors. I even went from attempting the JOIN query to attempting the Subquery option with no luck (I'm not familiar with how to write a Correlated Subquery, so I'm kind of waiting on doing that one until I get the actual Subquery version written out and working).

Below is an example of the JOIN query I started on:

SELECT
STUDENT.STUDENT_ID,
STUDENT.LAST_NAME,
STUDENT.FIRST_NAME,
STUDENT.ZIP,
ZIPCODE.STATE,
ENROLLMENT.ENROLL_DATE,
ENROLLMENT.SECTION_ID,
GRADE.NUMERIC_GRADE