MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  MySQL Query Browser

Query Fails - Need Help Figuring it out
Posted by: C R
Date: February 10, 2012 06:38AM

I need to create a view called EmployeeBoss containing employee number, employee name, employee salary and boss name from a table called emp. I need to use a self join. I've been trying the queries below, but somehow there's something missing that I can figure it out. Can anyone please take a look and give me some feedback. I'm new to building SQL queries.

This is the table I'm trying to extract the information described above using a self join:

mysql> desc emp;
+-----------+--------------+------+-----+---------+-------+
| Field | Type | Null | Key | Default | Extra |
| empno | smallint(6) | NO | PRI | 0 | |
| empname | varchar(25) | YES | | NULL | |
| empsalary | decimal(8,2) | YES | | NULL | |
| deptname | varchar(30) | YES | | NULL | |
| bossno | smallint(6) | YES | | NULL | |

I've written these two queries and neither of them work, they both throw an error:

Query 1 attempt

CREATE VIEW EmployeeBoss ( employee_number, employee_name,
employee_salary, boss_name) AS SELECT T1.empno, T1.empname, T1.empsalary, T2.empname  FROM emp T1, emp T2 WHERE T1.bossno = T2.empno; 

error:
ERROR 1064 (42000): You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'emp T1, emp T2 WHERE T1.b
ossno = T2.empno' at line 2

Query 2 attempt:
CREATE VIEW EmployeeBoss ( employee_number, employee_name,
employee_salary, boss_name) AS SELECT T1.empno, T1.empname, T1.empsalary, T2.empname  FROM emp T1 JOIN emp T2 ON T1.bossno = T2.empno; 

Error:
ERROR 1064 (42000): You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'emp T1 JOIN emp T2 ON T1.
bossno = T2.empno' at line 2

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Written By
Posted
Query Fails - Need Help Figuring it out
C R
February 10, 2012 06:38AM