MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Install & Repo

ERROR! The server quit without updating PID file
Posted by: Oksana Bihun
Date: April 04, 2023 12:00PM

Hello,

I am new to mySQL and am trying to have mySQL server running on my macOS Mojave, Version 10.14.6. I installed an earlier version of mySQL, 8.0.18, because it is compatible with my OS. The installation was from dmg file. I checked the sum and it was correct.

I tried to start mySQL server in the system preferences, but the green light circle button indicating that the server is running lit up for just a second and then became red again, indicating that the server isn't running.

I then tried to start mySQL server in Terminal by typing

/usr/local/mysql-8.0.18-macos10.14-x86_64/support-files/mysql.server restart

The output was the following

______________BEGIN____________________
ERROR! MySQL server PID file could not be found!
Starting MySQL
./usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe: line 674: /usr/local/mysql/data/Oksanas-MBP.hitronhub.home.err: Permission denied
Logging to '/usr/local/mysql/data/Oksanas-MBP.hitronhub.home.err'.
/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe: line 144: /usr/local/mysql/data/Oksanas-MBP.hitronhub.home.err: Permission denied
/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe: line 199: /usr/local/mysql/data/Oksanas-MBP.hitronhub.home.err: Permission denied
/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe: line 937: /usr/local/mysql/data/Oksanas-MBP.hitronhub.home.err: Permission denied
rm: /usr/local/mysql/data/Oksanas-MBP.hitronhub.home.pid.shutdown: Permission denied
/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqld_safe: line 144: /usr/local/mysql/data/Oksanas-MBP.hitronhub.home.err: Permission denied
ERROR! The server quit without updating PID file (/usr/local/mysql/data/Oksanas-MBP.hitronhub.home.pid).
______________END____________________

Can anyone help? Thank you.

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Written By
Posted
ERROR! The server quit without updating PID file
April 04, 2023 12:00PM

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.