MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  MySQL Workbench

My Workbench wish-list
Posted by: max goldberg
Date: February 03, 2008 10:42PM

Hello, I've been using (or at least trying) Workbench 5.0.12 (both regular and SE) for the last month or so, and I have a large amount of feedback. Rather than clogging the bug system with possible bugs and feature requests, I figured I'd post here and give an idea of what I'd like to see change in Workbench in the future.

Let me preface by saying my main concern is the general usability of the program. As a developer I know that it can be hard to focus on the trivial base features, but it seems like the workbench team has spent the majority of their time on bells and whistles that only a very small subset of the target audience will use. Having a GUI to set up table partitioning is great, but it's useless when the rest of the program is either extremely hard or impossible to use. So in summary, PLEASE focus on the general usability and intuitiveness of Workbench, I think it's the area that is lacking attention the most. If you try out any number of other DB design programs, you can hit the ground running and design a fairly simple database without any confusion. This should be a goal.

Now on to my actual wish-list (apologies up front if parts of this exist in the bug manager). Due to this forum's complete lack of any sort of text formatting, this may end up looking sort of wonky.

Major features
-----------------------

* Schema versioning and automatic version incrementation.
-- The ability to say "This is version X of the schema" and then later go back to
-- previous versions of the schema.
--
-- An option to automatically increment the version number upon saving would be nice.

* Field recycling of some sort.
-- When you have a database that uses the same field in many tables, you end up
-- having to re-define that field each time. Other similar programs such as
-- MicroOLAP's database designer have "domains" where you can define a field