MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Connector/C++

Access Results Set Columns When Multiple Instances Of Same Table Aliased
Posted by: Eric Peterson
Date: June 20, 2019 10:48AM

DB noob here!

I am building a MySQL-driven data management system for inspection reports and associated data created on a production floor as subassemblies are built up. Any part number can be a parent assembly or a subassembly. When a part appears as a parent, there's one set of revision specs. When a part appears as a subassembly, there's a different set of revision specs. A unique part specification appears as a reference to manufacturer, part number, and revision level. For obvious reasons, I want to use a single table for all possible part numbers, rather than allowing the potential for the same part number to appear in either or both part or subassembly tables.

I have a great deal of the system working. I'm at a point where I'm listing out available inspection forms for the administrator or operator of an inspection station. This means summarizing the data from an inspection form and all the referenced tables into a single line of data in a list in the UI. I'm using C++ because C++ is the basis of the control code for final assembly equipment control software that integrates the subassemblies, and which has to access the same data base and merge the quality records from the subassembly stations into the master quality audit record for each final assembly. This means I can use the same libraries I develop for this terminal for the control systems -- a great labor savings.

In this code fragment, I build up the query that joins the inspection form record to the various dependent table data, execute it, and then load each results record's elements of interest into an element of a vector of structures ready to pass to my UI.