Unable to upgrade MySQL from 5.6.29 to 5.6.39
Posted by: Jørn Trebbien
Date: April 02, 2018 11:30AM

Hello,

I could really use some help, and please bear with me, as I am pretty new to all this.

Using Windows Server 2012 R2, I am unable to upgrade MySQL from 5.6.29 to anything higher within the 5.6.x.x range using the 'mysql-installer-community-5.6.x.x.msi'.

The installer main window reports that there is no new version and that I can use the catalog button. Clicking the catalog button and following the guide does not fix the issue as the guide reports there are no new updates and exits to the installer main window.

A post somewhere on these forums suggests that there is a bug in the installer and that uninstalling it and installing a new version would fix the issue. This is partially true. Uninstalling the installer and launching 'mysql-installer-community-5.6.39.0.msi' does indeed update the installer but the installer main window still reports nothing newer than 5.6.29. When hitting execute on the 'update catalog' page it reports: 'The newly downloaded product catalog was not applied because it does not contain any updates for the current product catalog'. Clicking next I now get a huge list of recent updates including the one that I would like to install (5.6.39) but when hitting finish I am back at the installer main window which still reports that I am using 5.6.29 and that there are no new updates. How do I update MySQL to version 5.6.39 using MySQL community installer for Windows?