MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  General

Populating a table
Posted by: tim woodhouse
Date: September 02, 2016 06:05PM

I am relatively new to Computer Information Systems. Currently I am working towards a Degrees in CIS with a specialization in Database Management. After being introduced to this field I have gained an immense passion for programming. At the moment I have started teaching myself how to navigate through MySQL.

Here is the problem:

I have constructed a data-base containing two tables: Table 1: stored-schedule Table 2: active-schedule

Table1: (contains) 2 fields: Column 1: schedule_id (integer) Column 2: schedule. (Blob)

Table 2: (contains) multiple fields: This table is an outline of a Schedule: -id_num -first_name -last_name -monday_in -monday_out -monday_hours .........etc through Sunday

Now, I have built an excel document that I can build a schedule on. This "workbook" has multiple sheets. One of the sheets is named "data-sheet" this sheet is formulated to copy the values from only the cells that I need. I have saved the "active sheet" as a .csv. At the moment I can do two things with this file:

1.Save the .csv file as a BLOB data type in the "schedule" field of Table 1, with a schedule_id as "1" ( manually entering in 1 after "select * from...." Query).

2.Populate Table 2 with the .csv file by importing it from my saved files.
I would like to find this out: How can I use one row from table 1 (stored_schedule), as in 1 BLOB, to populate Table 2 (active_schedule).

ps. I have also built a Windows form GUI that will allow me to interact with the database. As of right now I'm not worried about the syntax for the connection (I have that already working as I research all my problems through this community, remember trying to self teach 🤓.

Here is the "logic" of the "application": -navigate through the application to arrive at "schedule" form.