MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Performance

Optimising Time to Output Listings from a Search
Posted by: Ken Dawber
Date: March 01, 2005 12:10AM

I have recently taken over maintenance and development of an Open Source PHP/mysql package used for creating web sites for real estate agents. This package is called Agent-See While I have had many years experience in programming, I have had relatively little experience with PHP/mysql.

With Real Estate web sites, it is common for users to request searches where thousands of properties (eg houses for sale or rental properties etc) can be returned. The output is then displayed in web pages displaying typically 10 of these properties per page with links to the next few and previous pages along with a display of number of properties meeting their search criteria. At present, the data for this all comes from querying a single properties table. The code (not written by me) is of the form

$result = mysql_query("$querystring;",$link);
$num_rows = mysql_num_rows($result);

// Use $num_rows to display links to previous and following pages etc near top of web page.

$query = $querystring . “ LIMIT “ . $first_property . “ , ” $properties_per_page ;
$result = mysql_query("$query;",$link);
while ($a_row =mysql_fetch_array ($result) ) { ……

I'm interested in reducing the time it takes for the user to start to see the listing.. I have identified 10 ways that I believe I can speed this up through changing the software.

A number of the methods have been created due to my belief that, at the present time, the vast majority of time taken. is taken up in calculating the number of properties that meet the search criteria. In particular, most of the time is taken up in performing the first statement in the above code. I haven’t tested this belief but would like to know from more experienced PHP/mysql programmers whether they agree?