MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  NDB clusters

Strange Query Results
Posted by: Michael Caplan
Date: July 28, 2006 11:48AM

Hi there,

(I hope it is not totally rude to cross post been the email cluster email list and the folurm, but it looks like the two have different readers)

I'm totally new to mysql cluster, and am experiencing some strange issues with my query results. I'm running a web application against a MySQL 5.0.22 cluster setup (1 management node, two data cluster nodes, and two sql nodes, running off of three boxes), and am having very strange results with session data stored in a table.

I am using PHP sessions with a custom handler which ties session data with Mysql. All session data gets stored in a mysql table. Nothing novel there. However, since moving to cluster, I have been having irregular results with session reinstantiation depending on what sql node the session data is being accessed from. I've also experienced strange results when querying the session data directly (mysql client). Check these two queries out:

mysql> select id from liveuser_sessions where id = 'k1rumm4pfg2nps0vk1hgrbl953';
+----------------------------+
| id |
| k1rumm4pfg2nps0vk1hgrbl953 |
1 row in set (0.04 sec)

Okay, all good. ID "k1rumm4pfg2nps0vk1hgrbl953" is my newly created session. Lets grab all columns re: my session:

mysql> select * from liveuser_sessions where id = 'k1rumm4pfg2nps0vk1hgrbl953';
Empty set (0.00 sec)

What the? It was just there... Was I dreaming...?

mysql> select id from liveuser_sessions where id = 'k1rumm4pfg2nps0vk1hgrbl953';
| id |
| k1rumm4pfg2nps0vk1hgrbl953 |
1 row in set (0.04 sec)

How the...?

As I mentioned above, I'm very new to the world of mysql cluster, and have no idea why this is taking place. It worked a-okay off of a myisam with no issue. Any ideas? Below is details about my table and management node config.

Thanks,

Michael

mysql> describe liveuser_sessions;
+--------+------------------+------+-----+---------+-------+