MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Perl

perl help on nested queries
Posted by: John-Scott Atlakson
Date: August 04, 2006 02:49PM

Hello,
I'm very new to perl (as of last night) and programming in general. I'm trying to 1) pull addresses from a MySQL database, 2)run each address through Geo::Coder::US and 3)then insert the results back into MySQL. So far, I am having success with 1 & 2, and can print the lat/long reults. Now I just need to figure out how to take these values and send them back to MySQL. Here's the code I have so far:

use strict;
use DBI();
use Geo::Coder::US;
Geo::Coder::US->set_db( "geocoder.db" );

my $dbh = DBI->connect("DBI:mysql:database=mydb;host=localhost",
"root", "",
{'RaiseError' => 1});

my $sth = $dbh->prepare("SELECT CONCAT_WS(' ',number,street,',',city,',','NY') AS address FROM properties LIMIT 1");
$sth->execute();
while (my $ref = $sth->fetchrow_hashref()) {
my ($match) = Geo::Coder::US->geocode("$ref->{'address'}");
print "$match->{lat},$match->{long}";
}
$sth->finish();

This works perfectly. To get the INSERT step working, I changed the 'while' block to:
while (my $ref = $sth->fetchrow_hashref()) {
my ($match) = Geo::Coder::US->geocode("$ref->{'address'}");
my $sth2 = $dbh->prepare("INSERT INTO properties (latitude,longitude) VALUES (?, ?)");
$sth2->execute($match->{lat},$match{long});
}

But now I get the error: "Global symbol "%match" requires explicit package name..."
I'm not entirely clear what's going on here. I know that the error is returned since I have 'use strict;'. But I don't understand why I can print "$match->{lat}" in the first example but it becomes a global variable (and complains) in the second example. I realize this question is more perl specific than MySQL, but I figured I'd have a decent chance of finding someone here who has successfully done something similar to what I'm attempting. I'm really surprised I made it this far. I appreciate any pointers on how to properly do this.

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject