MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Perl

new to PERL and MYSQL - needing help with comparing two files and removing duplicates
Posted by: Carlo Piva
Date: May 25, 2009 10:01AM

Hi there!

Okay I'm quite new to PERL and MySQL. I've been requested to make a script that would take the input from a database (only requiring specific fields), compare the results to a flat file, and not include any duplicates. It sounds easy but for someone who hasn't programed since the early 90's I'm lost lol

To make things simple I'm starting by loading the database utilizing fetchrow_hashref.

Since the database contains the duplicate entries, I need to sort through it and remove the duplicates.

Next would be to read the flat file and compare the results.

Lastly would be to display to a webpage (not to worried about that right now)

Here is my code so far. It is only up to reading the data and my failed (possibly feeble) attempt at trying to get it to remove the duplicates.

I hope someone can give me a hand, a few pointers, and some direction. I've purchased a MySQL Developers Guide book ($60) and a Learning PERL book ($40) and have been going through them. I understand what they have in the book but nothing is covered with what I'm specifically looking to do.

:EDIT:

Okay I figured out how to remove the duplicates. I can't believe I spent 2 days researching this and I accidentally come across the answer. It was as simple as including a DISTINCT option in my SELECT clause. Man I'm smashing my head against a wall now lol