MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Perl

Multiple lookups and inserts per row?
Posted by: Brad Edwards
Date: July 11, 2007 05:13PM

Sorry if this one's a bit lengthy, but I'm not sure how else to describe it. I'm a novice database developer, but I'm pretty sure I know how to get my database into 3rd normal form. I'm fairly certain I need 3rd normal form for my database because of the LARGE amount of data I need to store in a single table. After normalizing the database, that 1 table is nothing but numbers, and I have 3 lookup tables for those values. Here's an example to illustrate the situation:

swconfig_names (a table storing software configuration value names):
id - name
---------
1 - path
2 - version
3 - date_installed

swconfig_values (a table storing possible software configuration values):
id - value
----------
1 - /opt/software
2 - /usr/local
3 - /usr
4 - 3.0
5 - 4.0
6 - 5.0
7 - 2007-03-04
8 - 2007-02-02

systems (a table storing systems in the environment):
id - system
-----------
1 - one.company.org
2 - two.company.org
3 - three.company.org

swconfig_name_val_xref (a cross-reference table showing instances of all 3. This is the table that is gonna get HUGE):
swconfig_name.id - swconfig_value.id - system.id
------------------------------------------------
1 - 1 - 3
2 - 5 - 3
3 - 7 - 3

Now, when I gather this information from the real world, I get just the values so I have to look up the name of the attribute in the swconfig_names table for an ID, I have to look up the value in the swconfig_values table for an ID, and finally I have to look up the system ID in the systems table. I've created a Perl application to do this load for me, but as you can imagine, it's rather slow. Here's what it does to insert a single row into the xref table:

1. Lookup the ID for the current attribute name in swconfig_names (if it doesn't exist, insert the current attribute and retrieve an ID for it)