MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  PHP

Not able to insert data in database through phpscript
Posted by: Sammy 95
Date: January 27, 2009 02:45AM

Hello !

First of all I am quite new to mySQL (but enjoys it) so please exuse me and answer me in a simple way.

I have spendt hours and hours editing a php script that will create a database and at the same time insert some data into it.
Everything works except from the last part. I end up with a database with tables, but no content has been inserted into the table.

No errormessages are shown, actually my checking says that it's OK (but thats MY checking ;-). So I really wonder how to do this..
I have tried both INSERT and UPDATE with no luck. Well UPDATE works in some way..

I am able to open my php script and there I have a form where I am supposed to later edit these data. If I try that everything works.
So I am able to update (insert) data into the database when inside the php script myselves, but when I try to fill it up when creating the database it's not possible.

Here is my trouble part:

-- CODE start --

// create conf
$queryBlocks = mysql_query('CREATE TABLE conf (cfg_id int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment, cfg_status text NOT NULL, cfg_checked text NOT NULL, cfg_admin text NOT NULL, cfg_adminpass text NOT NULL, cfg_pathscript text NOT NULL, cfg_notfound text NOT NULL, cfg_rowsperpage int(4) NOT NULL default \'0\', cfg_codelength int(2) NOT NULL default \'0\', cfg_clearbutton text NOT NULL, PRIMARY KEY (cfg_id));');

if($queryBlocks) {
$msg[] = '<span class="create"><strong>MySQL:</strong> The database table was created.</span>'; }

if(!$queryBlocks) {
$msg[] = '<span class="create"><strong>MySQL:</strong> The database table was NOT created.</span>'; }

// insert data in conf