MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  PHP

Re: Double Insert
Posted by: James Wilson
Date: October 15, 2019 10:54AM

Peter, thanks for your reply. I probably titled the issue incorrectly. The problem is not a 'Double Insert' but rather a 'Double Update.' My bad!

1. Being somewhat of a mySQL novice, I'm not sure what you mean by a 'transaction block.' But, being an old school programmer (can you spell FORTRAN 2?) I have written some unique code to handle all database actions to modify the 60+ tables in the database. Basically, the serialized data of the form is passed to a routine that then builds the desired type of action (Insert/Update/Delete). I've been using the method for over 10 years on one site (www.txfannin.org) and now over a year on a second site (www.msholmes.org) and have had no problems until recently.

2. A 'dummy row' is not produced (bad title). What is 'produced' is the 'updated' record contains NULL in each field of the record. When a record is written to the table I write a record to a transaction_log table that contains the query string used to update the record. A good record is written to the log and then a few milliseconds later another record is written to the log as follows...