MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Stored Procedures

Re: Stored procedures utility library
Posted by: Beat Vontobel
Date: November 21, 2005 08:00AM

Okay, now this really starts to look like we have to build our own system to manage all of this and can't use something existing:

* "we could think of a task based category system" (Roland) -> We need a database.
* "The dependencies thing will be challenging, especially as we must take the pertinent mysql version into account too." (Roland) -> Database too, to manage this.
* "The benefit of doing the pretty printing automatically would be consistency." (Roland) -> Parser
* "Minimum requirements for admissions, out of the top of my head: [...]" (Giuseppe) -> Automatic checks would be nice.

> We can borrow from other languages. Personally, I
> am used to write documentation in Perl POD, which
> can produce HTML, RTF, text, and Latex very
> easily.

As a Perl programmer I could of course live with that. But there are a lot of MySQL users out there not at all used to POD, as their preferred language is PHP or VisualBasic - or Java, as Roland opts already for something like javadoc. But I think the javadoc/POD approach could be a good thing. Then we really have everything in one place. If we have to do a parsing (see pretty print above) and testing stage anyway, it would be easy to extract documentation as well.

But to complicate things further, I think we also need sort of a version control system, to allow for updates of library routines... As SQL routines are usually not too big, it would of course be possible to store every version entirely (I don't want to complicate everything even more).

A web based submission form, with automatic pretty-printing, doc extraction and test on a safe box... and a searchable library with dependency and version checks on the other side. Sounds really cool!