MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  General

Join to return the first instance - cannot use group by
Posted by: m m
Date: September 09, 2014 03:35PM

Hello
I have the following subquery where i need to use the first instance of each invoice per job. for example
each consignment can have multiple invoices;

consignment Invoice
1 111
1 112
2 113
3 114
3 115

I'm only interested in the first instance of each invoice per consignment.e.g.

1 111
2 113
3 114

I have tried adding group by CONSIGNMENT_ALL_HEADER_UNS.OPSREF$$ to the end of this query, however it is causing the query to run for a very long time and doesn't complete

I believe I need to do something with the JOIN , however I have tried the various join types , right / left / inner / outter none of which change the results.

I'm not very experienced with complicated queries and I cannot figure this out.

Any ideas?

SET @START_DATE := "2014-08-27";
SET @END_DATE:= "2014-09-02";

SELECT distinct
CONSIGNMENT_ALL_HEADER_UNS.OPSREF$$

FROM
CONSIGNMENT_ALL_HEADER_UNS
JOIN INVOICE_HEADER_UNS ON CONSIGNMENT_ALL_HEADER_UNS.OPSREF$$ = INVOICE_HEADER_UNS.OUR_REF

WHERE
CONSIGNMENT_ALL_HEADER_UNS.TMODE$$ = '6'
AND TRANSACTION_STATUS = 9
#AND CONSIGNMENT_ALL_HEADER_UNS.CONS_TYPE$$ not in ('1' , '4', '8', '7')

AND CONSIGNMENT_ALL_HEADER_UNS.CONS_TYPE$$ <>'7'

AND CONSIGNMENT_ALL_HEADER_UNS.CONS_TYPE$$ in ('3' , '5', '9')

AND (@START_DATE IS NULL OR INVOICE_HEADER_UNS.INVOICE_DATE_D8>=@START_DATE) AND
(@END_DATE IS NULL OR INVOICE_HEADER_UNS.INVOICE_DATE_D8<=@END_DATE OR INVOICE_HEADER_UNS.INVOICE_DATE_D8 IS NULL)

#AND (@START_DATE IS NULL OR SUPPLIER_COSTS_UNS.ESTIMATE_DATE >=(@START_DATE)) AND
#(@END_DATE IS NULL OR SUPPLIER_COSTS_UNS.ESTIMATE_DATE <=@END_DATE OR SUPPLIER_COSTS_UNS.ESTIMATE_DATE IS NULL))

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Written By
Posted
Join to return the first instance - cannot use group by
m m
September 09, 2014 03:35PM

Sorry, you can't reply to this topic. It has been closed.