MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  InnoDB

SET GLOBAL innodb_file_format=Barracuda not working
Posted by: Stephen Bloomer
Date: September 22, 2015 10:50PM

Hi all. I have had several MySQL servers for about 10 years, but as the are so reliable I have not had to do much with them, so I am not experienced. The server is a Windows 2012 R2 running MySQL 5.6.19 which is a backend server for a Moodle site with IIS running on another server.

For an upcoming version we need to change the innodb_file_format from Antelope to Barracuda. Following instructions I ran the commands and all looked good, but our Moodle still reported that we were running Antelope. Today I ran show variables like "%innodb_file%"; again and it reported

innodb_file_format Antelope
innodb_file_format_max Barracuda

This is a list of all commands I ran

USE dbname;
SET SESSION sql_mode=STRICT_ALL_TABLES;
SET GLOBAL innodb_file_per_table=1;
SET GLOBAL innodb_file_format=Barracuda;
ALTER TABLE mdl_data ROW_FORMAT=Compressed;
ALTER TABLE mdl_data_fields ROW_FORMAT=Compressed;
ALTER TABLE mdl_enrol_paypal ROW_FORMAT=Compressed;
ALTER TABLE mdl_lti ROW_FORMAT=Compressed;
ALTER TABLE mdl_user ROW_FORMAT=Compressed;
ALTER TABLE mdl_user_info_field ROW_FORMAT=Compressed;

I have since ran SET GLOBAL innodb_file_format=Barracuda; several times. When I do it appears to run without issues and then I run show variables like "%innodb_file%"; and it reported

innodb_file_format Barracuda
innodb_file_format_max Barracuda

So I quit this and restart the server and run show variables like "%innodb_file%"; and it again reports innodb_file_format Antelope. The innodb_file_format_max shows Barracuda.

Can someone please assist with identifying what I am doing wrong to get it all to Barracuda ?

Thanks in advance.

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Views
Written By
Posted
SET GLOBAL innodb_file_format=Barracuda not working
September 22, 2015 10:50PM

Sorry, you can't reply to this topic. It has been closed.