Database Design Help
Posted by: Jon Baker
Date: November 01, 2010 02:29AM

Hi everyone...

for my sins I worked as an Oracle DBA for 2 years, altho my role was mostly fixing 100,000+ lines of sql script written by previous peeps, unix admin type work, and Application migration from unix to windows..... I never actually got to do any "db admin" in the sense of creating and managing the actual databases.....

anyway, unfortunately during uni, I only passed my Schema Design/Database Design part cus I threatened to sue the university because the lecturer was never around to take lessons, which leads me to my next request...

I need to design a database for my homerun business, I need:

Customers & PAT Testing Results as a bare minimum. Ideally, an invoicing database to link in with these for dates of invoices sent, payments received/late etc would be ideal......

The creme de la creme would be an auto-generated letter/email that reminds either myself or my customers when its close to the re-test date for their appliances.

Im not a big business, work from home etc.. might be able to pay (beer/pizza) lol, for help.. or come to somekind of arrangements..

Any help or ideas would be much appreciated,

jon.baker@oakappliancetesting.co.uk

Thanks,

Liberator.

Customer DB: General contact info/ID etc.

Test Results: Each customer can have anywhere from 1 - 5000 test results, and each record has approx 11 results fields (various datatypes)..

My personal confusion comes in where by Each customer can be tested up to every 3 months, altho usually every 12 months...... so each Customer may have an annual table of up to 4000 results, each years test results needs to be kept for at least 6 years...

Wouldn't these just end up being like a massive flatfile (which I know is bad) for each time a customer gets tested?

Anyway, I hope my further explanation helps a little, please feel free to ask any questions about the info above..

Regards again,

Jon.

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject