MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  PHP

Re: Fatal error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\practice\testsql.php on line 17
Posted by: Candy Ekangaki
Date: January 11, 2007 10:59AM

I am having a similar problem, I posted for help, see attached message. Does anyone have a solution?
Candy

I am new to php and mysql. I have tried to connect to mysql database using php and I have been unsucessful. I know that php and apache are working because I am able to write simple programs e.g phpinfo(), etc and have it run with correct outputs.
I have tried to connect using both mysql and mysqli and I keep having the same error. In the php.ini the following extensions are uncommented
extension=php_mysql.dll
extension=php_mysqli.dll
mysql and mysqli are located in the directory c:\php5\ext
The path to the directory in php.ini is
extension_dir = "C:\php5\ext"
I am running mysql server 5.0.27 and php 5.2.0. I downloaded and replaced the two libraries above with those on [dev.mysql.com]. I also included libmysql.dll to main directory C:\php5 which I also downloaded from the same site.
The error I get when I use mysql_connect or mysqli.connect is
"Fatal error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in C:\Apache2\htdocs\mysqlconnect.php on line 26"

To debug I turned on the in php.ini files so that when I restart apache the error
"PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\php5\ext\phpmysql.dll' - the specified module could not be found" is displayed.

I even added the system variable PHPRC pointing to c:\php5. I still have the same error.

Does anyone know how to fix this. What am I doing wrong, I have tried uninstalling and reinstall php, apache and mysql several times. I am running out of ideas, please help.

Thanks,

Candy

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Written By
Posted
Re: Fatal error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\practice\testsql.php on line 17
January 11, 2007 10:59AM