MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Newbie

How do I release connection?
Posted by: Steve George
Date: February 02, 2005 02:56PM

Hi everyone,

There is probably a simple answer to this, but I'm very new to MySQL and can't figure it out.

I am developing a site which has a login screen to access a members area. I downloaded a set of code snippets which connect to the database, verify the user and redirect them to the respective page if the details are correct.

The snippets are in three parts;

"Connection script" (db.php)

<?
$dbhost = '******.com';
$dbusername = '******_db';
$dbpasswd = '****';
$database_name = '*****_db';

$connection = mysql_pconnect("$dbhost","$dbusername","$dbpasswd")
or die ("Couldn't connect to server.");

$db = mysql_select_db("$database_name", $connection)
or die("Couldn't select database.");
?>

"Validation Script"

Long and complicated, but it works OK :)

"Logout Script"

<?
session_start();
if(!isset($_REQUEST['logmeout'])){
echo "<center>Are you sure you want to logout?</center><br />";
echo "<center><a href=logout.php?logmeout>Yes</a> | <a href=javascript:history.back()>No</a>";
} else {
session_destroy();
if(!session_is_registered('FirstName')){

include 'loginagain.php';
}
}
?>

Everthing appears to work OK, but I have just recently got the error:

"Warning: mysql_pconnect(): Too many connections in /home/www/awdd.org.uk/db.php on line 12. Couldn't connect to server."

when I try to connect. I'm guessing this is because the logout script is ending the users session, but not releasing the connection. As I say, the site is being developed and connections from my IP are the only ones registered in the logs.

I would be very grateful if someone could enlighten me as to the best way of adapting the scripts I already have, or where I might find more useful ones, that do release the connection when the user logs out.

Thanks in advance for any advice. :D

-- If at first you don't succeed...Ask someone who knows!! --

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject