MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Full-Text Search

FULLTEXT on multiple related tables: Second opinion needed
Posted by: Zach Werner
Date: February 26, 2009 06:17PM

Hi,
I’m trying to add fulltext search to multiple related tables. I think I came up with a good way to do this but since I’m new to MySQL I would really appreciate a second opinion. Here are the tables: I have a table named book and a table named author and a lookup table named book_author to join the two since each book can have multiple authors and each author could be associated with several books. I would like people to be able to search by keywords from the book table or by author’s name. After a lot of testing this is the query that I’ve come up with:

SELECT results.book_id, results.title, results.isbn, SUM(score) AS score
FROM (
SELECT book.book_id, book.title, book.isbn,
MATCH(book.title, book.subtitle) AGAINST(‘search words’) AS score
FROM book
WHERE book.display_status = 1
AND MATCH(book.title, book.subtitle) AGAINST(‘search words’)
UNION ALL
SELECT book.book_id, book.title, book.isbn,
MATCH(author.first_name, author.last_name) AGAINST(‘search words’) AS score
FROM book
INNER JOIN book_author ON book_author.book_id = book.book_id
INNER JOIN author ON author.author_id = book_author.author_id
WHERE book.display_status = 1
AND MATCH(author.first_name, author.last_name) AGAINST(‘search words’)
) AS results
GROUP BY results.book_id
ORDER BY score DESC

Queries are taking around .0075 seconds. This seems fine but I only have 11 rows in my book table, 6 rows in my author table and 12 rows in my book_author table. When I run the query with explain I get something similar to this(depending on the words used for search):

| 1 | PRIMARY | <derived2> | ALL | NULL | NULL | NULL | NULL | 6 | Using temporary; Using filesort
| 2 | DERIVED | book | fulltext | ft_book | ft_book | 0 | | 1 | Using where
| 3 | UNION | author | fulltext | PRIMARY,ft_name | ft_name | 0 | | 1 | Using where