Help Connecting to MySQL using Eclipse for C on Windows
Posted by: William Spence
Date: September 07, 2016 02:33PM

I am a total newbie at using MySQL and programming in C, but I can't actually begin coding because I cannot get my Eclipse C Environment set up right to even build a project. I have installed MySQL Connector, but I don't think that I have set up the libraries and paths correctly to make everything work. Here is the code that I have tried, very simple:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <C:\Program Files\MySQL\MySQL Connector.C 6.1\include\mysql.h>

int main(void) {
MYSQL *conn;
char *server = "localhost";
char *user = "root";
char *password = "PASSWORD"; /* set me first */
char *database = "database";
conn = mysql_init(NULL);

/* Connect to database */
if (!mysql_real_connect(conn, server,
user, password, database, 0, NULL, 0)) {
fprintf(stderr, "%s\n", mysql_error(conn));
exit(1);
}
}

I have added the following Library Search Paths(-L) under the project properties in the MinGW Linker:

"C:/Program Files/MySQL/MySQL Connector.C 6.1/lib"
"C:/Program Files/MySQL/MySQL Connector.C 6.1/lib/vs12"

I have added the libraries(-l) under the project properties in the MinGW Linker:

C:/Program Files/MySQL/MySQL Connector.C 6.1/lib/libmysql.lib
C:/Program Files/MySQL/MySQL Connector.C 6.1/lib/vs12/mysqlclient.lib

but when I try to build the project, I get the error that ld.exe cannot find either of the libraries I added???

c:/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/x86_64-w64-mingw32/6.1.0/../../../../x86_64-w64-mingw32/bin/ld.exe: cannot find -lC:/Program Files/MySQL/MySQL Connector.C 6.1/lib/libmysql.lib
c:/mingw/bin/../lib/gcc/x86_64-w64-mingw32/6.1.0/../../../../x86_64-w64-mingw32/bin/ld.exe: cannot find -lC:/Program Files/MySQL/MySQL Connector.C 6.1/lib/vs12/mysqlclient.lib

I am so frustrated just trying to set this up and want to get to coding, so any insight would be GREATLY appreciated!!! Thanks!

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Views
Written By
Posted