MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  PHP

Best practices for saving data to MySQL and form handling
Posted by: Patrick Plante
Date: July 10, 2018 08:34AM

Hi everyone, my first post here. I've searched all over the web and found various answers to my questions, all different, but I guess this is the best place to ask this.

I'm not that good with all this, so I don't know if it's important or not, so I prefer giving more details than not enough. Thanks for your understanding.

Let's start with my environment;

- PHP version is 5.3.29
- Files are UTF-8 encoded
- MySQL version is 5.5.40
- Server charset : UTF-8 Unicode (utf8)
- phpMyAdmin version is 4.2.12

Ok, so I use PHP to make forms and handle them. What I need to do usually is to have a form filled by users and when they submit it, it saves/update the field content to a MySQL database but it also print the submitted field on the same page, sometimes directly on the page and at other times on a form field again.

My main issue is to know the best practices for value handling, specifically regarding single and double quotes. I always have problems saving to MySQL (mysql errors) and/or printing out results back onto form fields.

Let's say I have a simple form that has only one field called 'Location', and that a user insert (Bob's so-called "restaurant"), this becomes a nightmare since I had to use str_replace (ex.: $string = str_replace("'","\'",$string) then $string =str_replace('"','\"',$string), not pretty...) before saving to MySQL and str_replace back again to print that back onto the form field.

With this method, I've always saved single and double quotes directly into MySQL, but when I make resquests and print those results that contains single and double quotes into a form to update something, I have to do that str_replace again.