MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Stored Procedures

Output variable always returns NULL
Posted by: Gabriel Harriman
Date: December 14, 2005 02:32PM

Hello everybody,

I'm new to creating storedprocs in MySQL and I've run into a wall. I've created a pretty simple stored procedure to return a delta or full list of users by calling additional sprocs based on the last time the application pulled data, determined by a timestamp updated on each call.

The sproc will return a result set and a single character output variable. The application knows if it's a delta or full list of users by using the output variable.

Here's the sproc code:

DELIMITER $$;

DROP PROCEDURE IF EXISTS `presence`.`pullUsers`$$

CREATE PROCEDURE `pullUsers`(my_client_id MEDIUMINT, OUT pullType CHAR(1))
BEGIN
DECLARE my_last_pull TIMESTAMP;

SELECT last_pull INTO my_last_pull
FROM scorecard
WHERE client_id = my_client_id;

IF @my_last_pull < date_add(now(), INTERVAL '-1' HOUR) THEN
SET pullType = 'f';
CALL pullUsersFull(my_client_id);
ELSE
SET pullType = 'd';
CALL pullUsersDelta(my_client_id, @my_last_pull);
END IF;
UPDATE scorecard
SET last_pull = NULL
WHERE client_id = my_client_id;

SET pullType = 'o';
END$$

DELIMITER ;$$

I've been writing the sprocs using SQLyog (sort of like Query Analyzer) and it never returns a value for "pullType". I messed around with the placement of setting this variable; notice the SET pullType = 'o'; at the very end. I set it there and I still get NULL back in the output variable.

I did a control test by creating a sproc took one parameter, the output variable, and it does in fact work that way. So, I know it's not a problem with how I'm calling it from SQLyog.

Here's how I run the sproc in SQLyog:

call pullUsers(4, @test);
select @test;

The two called sprocs in the code above both return a result set. They don't do anything with the "pullType" variable.

This is using MySQL v 5.0.16-nt-max via TCP/IP.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,

Gabe