MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Perl

Problems Installing DBD::MySQL offline on IIS
Posted by: Noel Keene
Date: June 06, 2007 10:24AM

Hi,
I'm using windows IIS server, Windows XP, ActivePerl 5.8.8, mySQL 5.0, and I'm not connected to the internet(and may not be able to for a while). I'm running into a lot of problems trying to get started with perl/mysql compatibility. I believe it's because I can't install DBI and/or dbd::mysql. I've searched a lot of forums, posted several questions on other forums, but to no avail yet. I have limited programming knowledge, but have the basics of perl/CGI and know general mySQL commands. I've also purchased several books but none address this specific issue.

Here's my problem. With all of my modules, I've been unzipping them through winzip and placing in my perl/lib folder. Is this the correct way? I see individual folders like perl/lib/dbd and perl/lib/dbi...do I place them in those folders instead of the general perl/lib folder? I've tried both but no go. I see dbi.pm in there and dbd.pm and mysql.pm.
So, I've tried to verify that they're installed through the command line.
Here's what I get:
C:\Perl>ppm

C:\Perl>ppm query dbi
┌──────┬─────────┬─────────────────────────────────────────┬──────┐
│ name │ version │ abstract │ area │
├──────┼─────────┼─────────────────────────────────────────┼──────┤
│ DBI │ 1.52-r1 │ Database independent interface for Perl │ perl │
└──────┴─────────┴─────────────────────────────────────────┴──────┘
(1 package installed matching 'dbi')

C:\Perl>ppm query dbd
┌────────────┬─────────┬──────────────────────────────────────────┬──────┐
│ name │ version │ abstract │ area │
├────────────┼─────────┼──────────────────────────────────────────┼──────┤
│ DBD-SQLite │ 1.13 │ Small fast embedded SQL database engine. │ perl │
└────────────┴─────────┴──────────────────────────────────────────┴──────┘
(1 package installed matching 'dbd')

C:\Perl>ppm query dbd-mysql
*** no packages installed matching 'dbd-mysql' ***