MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Install & Repo

Re: Error Nr. 1045 Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (Using password: NO)
Posted by: Russell Gooday
Date: July 14, 2009 10:29AM

Well that's a chunk of my life I want back. I haven't read all posts here, just the first 20 or so frustrated ones. I'm no expert so my solution was very much trial and error.

What I did was uninstall mysql. I then removed the data folder manually from the previous install. I checked services to see if mysql had in fact gone and also checked processes.

I then reinstalled selecting custom and changing the folder to c:/mysql(as I did previously).

This time when it came to configuration I selected the 'detailed option'(I think it is), rather than the standard option. Being that I'm only editing a basic enough website, it was pretty much a case of okaying all the top default options. When it came to the password I entered the password and confirmed password. i then executed no problem.

I checked in cmd.

cd \mysql\bin
mysql -uroot -p
password? ****** (<-my password from the config)

and all was tickadeeboo

The only other issue I had was that I couldn't get phpmyadmin to run. PHP couldn't connect to the database and was giving me a 'Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client'

The reason I think is that I'm running PHP 4.4.7

An easy fix though

in the cmd, once logged in

mysql> SET PASSWORD FOR root@localhost = OLD_PASSWORD('yourpasswordfromconfig');

All sorted. phpMyAdmin running just fine and able to edit my user settings etc.

Hope this helps.

RG

Options: ReplyQuote

Subject
Written By
Posted
Re: Error Nr. 1045 Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (Using password: NO)
July 14, 2009 10:29AM
August 23, 2010 05:37AM
October 08, 2010 02:25PM
October 15, 2011 11:03PM

Sorry, you can't reply to this topic. It has been closed.