MySQL Forums
Forum List  »  Install & Repo

SOLUTION: "mysql_connect(): Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client"
Posted by: mglatts
Date: January 07, 2005 12:12AM

Hello everyone, and cheers from sunny Brazil.

First of all, this will be a long post, so I apologize for that. Take a cup of coffee ;)
I’m a newbie, so I’ll write this for newbies, as much as I can in non-technical terms.

I had the same problem that several guys had with phpMyAdmin, the weird error:

“#1251 - mysql_connect(): Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client”

But after some considerable effort and a lot of tries I managed to solve it, so I decided to share here what I did in order to help other newbies as I am.

I have divided this post in three parts:
1. The environment
2. The problem
3. The solution

Let’s go.

1. The environment

=>Installed, up and running:

ZoneAlarm 5.1.011.000 Firewall
Panda Platinum 7.07.01 Anti-Virus

Windows XP SP 1
Apache server 2.0.52 (see Notes about Apache server installation below)
mySQL server 4.1.7
php 4.3.10RC1

The last 4 components form the so-called WAMP configuration (acronym of their initial letters).

Notes about Apache server installation:
a) If you’re running XP, you MUST have at least SP1 installed, or Apache 2.x will not work properly.
b) If you have ZoneAlarm (any version) installed, UNINSTALL it PRIOR to installing Apache 2.x. Failing to do so will make Apache behave oddly and be unstable, or sometimes even not be installed or simply stop responding and can’t be started anymore. After a successful Apache 2.x installation, you can re-install ZoneAlarm with no worries.